Scholarship applications for 2019-2020 season will be open October 15, 2019 – February 28, 2020.  Students and professionals have the opportunity to select from 3 scholarship options:  Undergraduate, Karen Kohler Past Presidents Memorial Graduate Scholarship and the Established Professional Development Scholarship.

A Guide to Scholarship Application

The Wisconsin Health Information Management Association, Inc. proudly continues to support and recognize Wisconsin students pursuing their education as health information professionals, members pursuing graduate education, and members needing financial assistance for professional development. The Scholarship program is funded through fundraising activities, i.e. Not-So-Silent Auction and the WHIMA Fall Conference Scholarship Fundraiser.  The purpose of this scholarship program is to acknowledge and reward academic excellence, leadership and volunteerism.  Amounts awarded will be based on the number of qualified applications received for each scholarship. Individual awards vary. All applications for consideration must be submitted by the deadline indicated on the application form.  Scholarship recipients will be notified prior to the WHIMA Annual Conference and receive formal invitation and recognition at the Annual Business Meeting.

Undergraduate Scholarship

  • Must be a student member of AHIMA and WHIMA.
  • Must be enrolled in an CAHIIM accredited Health Information Administration program or Health Information Technology program. Scholarship to be granted for those students who have successfully completed the first semester of their program.
  • Must document a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.
  • Must complete the application procedure.

Karen Kohler Past President Memorial Graduate Scholarship

  • Must be an active member of AHIMA and WHIMA.
  • The applicant at the time the scholarship is awarded must be a student in an accredited graduate program* relating to the health care information field. The specific degree program is not a critical factor, although it is expected that programs similar to those in health care information, business administration, computer science and information systems, management engineering and quality improvement.
  • Must have made contributions showing leadership, innovation and creativity within the HIM profession.
  • Must complete the application procedure.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible to submit an application in subsequent years.

*Must be enrolled in an accredited graduate degree program. For example, In Wisconsin, the regional accreditor is the Higher Learning Commission. Contact the Professional Development Team Co-Lead, Diana Cupp, at if you have questions.

Established Professional Development Scholarship

  • Must be active member of WHIMA and AHIMA.
  • Must submit evidence of attendance at continuing education program and personal payment for program or successful completion of credentialing examination.
  • Must complete the application procedure.
  • Professional or personal references.
  • Must have made contributions showing leadership, innovation and creativity with the HIM profession.

Members Only

You are not currently logged in.

» Lost your Password?

Member Only Access Instructions

Your username is your AHIMA ID and your password is your last name (case-sensitive). If you do not know your AHIMA ID number, then please contact AHIMA.

Application Forms

Undergraduate Scholarship

Karen Kohler Past President Memorial Scholarship

Established Professional Scholarship

For more information call WHIMA at (785) 531-0647 or e-mail