ICD-10 CE Requirements

The Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management (CCHIIM) recently announced ICD-10 recertification requirements for individuals certified by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA).

In the document, “ICD-10 CE Requirements for AHIMA Certified Professionals & FAQs,” the CCHIIM commission states the following:

AHIMA Certified Professionals are required by CCHIIM to participate in a predetermined number of mandatory baseline educational experiences specific to ICD-10-CM/PCS. These ICD-10-CM/PCS specific CEUs will count as part of all AHIMA certificants total CEU requirements for the purpose of recertification. Stated differently, the following CEU requirements will be included as part of each certificants’ total, required CEUs, by credential, per CEU Cycle.

The total number of ICD-10-CM/PCS continuing education units (CEUs) required, by AHIMA credential, is as follows:

  • CHPS – 1CEU
  • CHDA – 6 CEUs
  • RHIT – 6 CEUs
  • RHIA – 6 CEUs
  • CCS-P – 12 CEUs
  • CCS – 18 CEUs
  • CCA – 18 CEUs

*6 CEUs = 1 day of training (Please see the explanation under FAQs)

Some examples of educational opportunities to fulfill these requirements include but are not limited to:

  • Introduction to ICD-10 basics
  • Business impact and implementation considerations
  • Understanding general equivalence mappings (GEMs)
  • ICD-10-CM structure, guidelines and conventions
  • Clinical documentation improvement strategies using ICD-10-CM
  • Biomedical science coursework such as anatomy and physiology and pathophysiology refresher courses
  • Data analysis and trending with ICD-10-CM coded data
  • ICD-10-CM and its effect on reimbursement methodologies

Certificants who hold more than one AHIMA credential will only report the highest number of CEUs from among all credentials held. For example, if a certificant has both an RHIA and CCS, the certificant would normally report 40 (30 CEUs for RHIA and an additional 10 CEUs for CCS) CEUs per recertification cycle, and 18 of these CEUs will be required to cover ICD-10-CM/PCS.

AHIMA certified professionals can begin earning ICD-10-CM/PCS specific CEUs during the period of January 1, 2011 thru December 31, 2013. NOTE: All AHIMA Certified Professionals who complete AHIMA’s Academy for ICD-10 prior to January 1, 2011 will be allowed to use those CEU hours to fulfill the ICD -10-CM/PCS CE requirement.